Client Reviews For Nichols & Churchill

Below you can read testimonials from satisfied clients that were represented by Attorney Matt Nichols and Attorney Sarah Churchill.

Dear Attorney Nichols,

I cannot thank you enough for the services you rendered on my behalf. Both you and Joanne were always available for questions and times you weren’t you got back to me with answers almost immediately. You were was always one step ahead and handled both the DMV and court case timely, professionally with ease….never missing a beat! I sincerely appreciate everything you did for me and my family!

Thank you!
Roger

Extremely knowledgeable representation…
Posted by Chris

I can’t imagine a better team to defend your OUI arrest…Very thorough in following all aspects of the arrest record. Attorney Matt Nichols and his team (particularly his incredibly helpful assistant, Joanne) are extremely responsive to your inquiries regarding the process of your defense, and keep you informed of deadlines and important dates along the way. I don’t believe there is anyone in the legal profession better versed in OUI law in Maine than Matt Nichols. Trust me, he is your best defense…


Spot-On Expertise and Guidance Every Step of the Process
Posted by Client

Right from the start during the initial consultation I knew I had made the right choice in selecting representation for my DUI. Matt’s approach in my case, expertise, and guidance proved to be very effective throughout a process that involved the BMV, the ADA and the Courts. Both Matt, and his extremely capable legal assistant, Joanne, were responsive in a timely manner to my questions along the way. Their knowledge and professionalism helped me to be well informed and patient with the system. Knowing exactly what to expect made it easier for me to cope with the process and prepare for what lay before me. And it all payed off….I couldn’t be more satisfied with the results.


Case Dismissed
Posted by Greg Day

Matt, Sarah, and Joanne exceeded all of my expectations throughout the entire process of my second OUI charge. Because my case was my second within 10 years and it was a refusal I was facing severe penalties with life altering consequences as well as 2 weeks jail time minimum. Matt’s initial 1 hour free consultation went beyond the alotted time as he took extra time to describe each and every aspect of the process. Shortly after hiring the team I began to receive copies of all the paperwork, including requests for video evidence from the arresting police department. The heat was really getting turned up as the police reports and videos came rolling in. My behavior at the police station the day of my arrest was entirely unacceptable as Matt & I watched every painful second of the police station video footage twice from beginning to end looking for any lapse in protocol that would be to my benefit. Matt’s knowledge of OUI law became even more evident as we watched the video. Matt did not make any false promises or get ahead of me in terms of leading me to believe one thing or the other regarding an outcome, what he did do was focus on application of the law, and he made sure all of my rights were upheld at every point of the arrest. Sarah, in fact, represented me at the BMV hearing and was able to emerge victorious completely eliminating an 18 month license suspension (Not including Secretary of State suspension of 3 years concurrent to BMV). Joanne notified me immediately of my license being reinstated after being suspended only 9 days. In the interim leading up to my trial Matt made sure to keep me posted on exactly what to do and expect as my date drew closer. He was excellent at getting back to my phone calls and e-mails and typically did within an hour or two unless he was in the courtroom. He also kept me informed of any details that would help me achieve the best possible outcome that tend to get overlooked, including writing letters and arriving to court early on a busy day. I could not have asked for a better outcome as my OUI charge was dismissed due to Matt’s knowledge of OUI/refusal law. It is clear that Matt is highly respected in this field but also respected in the courtroom and by law enforcement. My endorsement is simple: Don’t drink and drive, ever. It is foolish, stressful, and costly. On the other hand, good people make mistakes. Having Sarah, Matt and Joanne on your side is the only silver lining to a first, or second OUI charge. And, the more complicated and unsavory your case may be, the more I would recommend them.


Great Attorney
Posted by Client

I had never been in trouble before my OUI arrest. I went to Matt and he explained the process and ramifications in the initial conversation. He went way over the 1 hour that he does for free and answered all my questions. He is not the type of attorney that will hand hold you, and he is not exactly comforting. He explains what it is, how it is and what needs to be done. I appreciated all of that in him, but some people might want/need a little more emotional support. Even still, any time I had a question I would email him and if it took an hour to get a response that would have been a long time. So he is there for you but he just won’t devote a lot of energy to your feelings. Again, I appreciate this in people, so I don’t mean it as a slight towards him. I received a copy of everything filed with the court by both parties and at all times I was made aware of the next step. He was always prompt to meetings and was always prepared–to which I think a lot of credit is due to his office assistant as she is amazing. Contrary to the other reviewer, I was never lectured on alcohol use by Matt and he doesn’t come across as the lecturing type on such issue.

I did loose my license for 90 days as part of the DMV suspension but not for the criminal offense because my case was dismissed. The DMV part of an OUI is a seperate issue from the criminal matter, it also starts very quickly after the arrest, and the scope of the hearing is very limited. Their real concern is the testing procedure of the breathalyzer and not much else matters. The hearing is painless and Matt did all the talking so in reality I spent more time worrying about the hearing than actually attending the hearing. He asked that I attend but I wasn’t required to be at the hearing.

Overall, Matt is a great attorney, he’s friendly, efficient and is a guy you want fighting for you. Just don’t expect him to call you up and ask how you’re feeling.


The best attorney money can buy.
Posted by a client, December 6, 2016

Matt Nichols is, hands down, the best attorney money can buy. I have used his services (along with those of his associate, Sarah Churchill) on three different occasions concerning OUI charges, and have never been let down. Matt Nichols knows his way around the legal system, and he always makes sure you know exactly what to expect every step of the way. The last time I hired Matt to represent me, I was facing felony OUI charges that threatened to greatly derail my life; Matt was able to work out a deal with the D.A. that would greatly reduce my sentence. Both Matt and his legal assistant Joanne were quick to respond to any questions I had during the process, and also provided continued support in the aftermath.

The greatest thing about having Matt Nichols in your corner is that he genuinely cares about his clients. This is not just a job for Matt; I can earnestly say that his support went far beyond what you would expect from a typical attorney-client relationship. I had no doubt that he was truly fighting for me 100%, and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the results.

I can’t say enough good things about Matt Nichols; he is worth every penny!


Exactly the right man for the job!
Posted by a DUI client, Sept. 24, 2014

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
  • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Matt was an ace in all hearings. We had the fortune of going head to head with a “loose cannon” of an officer, and Matt made sure to exploit that but never play the bad guy.

The facts he found in my defense could not be refuted, his angle of attack was dead on – at the time I would have preferred going after the officer more overtly, but Matt’s experience kept him on a line that didn’t jeopardize my case with the hearings officer (former police man) or the district attorney.

At times I second guessed the way the case was proceeding, but in the end Matt not only beat the refusal, but also the criminal charge. He knew what had to be done, tactfully made the conclusions for the hearings officer and district attorney, and fed them the answers.

It’s very clear that he has years of experience and volumes of knowledge in this field, and if you’re in a position where you need an expert in this field, then look no further!


The ONLY firm to hire when facing an OUI charge
Posted by a DUI client, Sept. 26, 2014

Attorney Nichols and his Legal Assistant, Joanne, are consummate professionals and advocates for their clients. From the initial consultation onward I was impressed with Matt’s thoroughness and proactive approach for dealing with the charge. Throughout the process of the criminal procedure Matt and Joanne were always quick to reply with straightforward answers in a non-judgmental way. Attorney Nichols is exceptionally well versed and knowledgeable with respect to all matters DUI related: His reputation as a top-level criminal defense attorney is well deserved and earned with over 25 years defending clients.

Matt has a knack for communicating effectively and efficiently with the local District Attorney’s office which proved vital in significantly reducing the punitive portion of my charge. I would highly recommend the services of Matt and his firm should you ever be in the unfortunate situation of facing a criminal charge of OUI.


 

Matt, GOD Bless
Posted by Bill, a DUI client, 2 months ago

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
  • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Matt was the ultimate professional. I would recommend him. He kept me informed on all that was going on at all times. He filled me in on how everything was going to take place, and what my options were at all times. I am not from Maine and not only did he keep me updated on what to expect in Maine, but also what to expect in my home state. He arranged it so I did not have to appear at my first hearing. The bottom line is that wile I pleaded guilty, it was to the lesser charge of driving to endanger and not D.U.I.


A Review for Matt Nichols
Posted by a DUI client, 2 months ago

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
  • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I would recommend Matt to anyone who is in need of a DUI lawyer. This experience was not easy and Matt helped me through the entire process. Every step he was there to explain what I needed to do and why. Not only was this experience an awful one but it is extremely confusing and Matt was there to explain all steps, options and possible outcomes. Matt was also willing to meet on the weekend to accommodate my work schedule.

Not only was Matt great but his inside team, Joanne, was great too. She has worked in the system for years and if Matt was not around, she had the answers to all my questions. She is very knowledgeable and always followed up with me on appointments and forms I needed to send in.

I HIGHLY recommend sitting down with Matt for a consultation if you have been pulled over for DUI. You need to be educated and consulted throughout this process and Matt is person you want to talk to and represent you.


Wonderful Review for a Wonderful Lawyer
Posted by Amanda, 4 months ago

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.

I contacted Matthew in order to help me with a case where I was caught shoplifting. He not only charged me a reasonable price, but was quick to make contact with me and let me know what he could do for me. I am in school to be a teacher, and was very concerned about having such a bad choice affect my career. Matt was able to reassure me that such a juvenile choice was not going to stay on my record as far as he was concerned. I was scheduled for court on three separate occasions, and I was fortunate to not have to attend any of the hearings. Matt really took care of me. He was relatively good about answering emails, and was always available to talk on the phone when an appointment was made. He knew exactly what to do! My case was dropped completely, and I couldn’t be more lucky to have Matt perform such a task! I would certainly recommend this great lawyer to anyone and owe him a lot of gratitude for what he was able to do for me.


Happy choosing Matthew Nichols to help.
Posted by a DUI client, 4 months ago

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
  • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I went to Mr. Nichols in search of someone that had the most obvious depth in knowledge of DUI cases. I felt as though he was friendly but informative. Although, in my particular case I had nothing much in my favor to get away with my actions, Mr. Nichols was able to get me the best possible outcome and avoid a much harsher punishment to which I am grateful. He has experience and knowledge and is prompt and thorough. He gets results.


I ENTHUSIASTICALLY RECOMMEND ATTORNEY MATTHEW NICHOLS!
Posted by Vincent, a DUI client, 4 months ago

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
  • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I hired Attorney Matthew Nichols about one year ago, after I was arrested and charged with OUI while on vacation with friends and family in Maine. As an out of state resident, I was unfamiliar with the laws and procedures in the state of Maine. I spent a considerable amount of time researching both, and scheduled a number of consultations with local trial attorneys that specialized in criminal defense, specifically representing individuals charged with OUI. I spoke with five attorneys before my initial consultation with Attorney Nichols. From the first time that we spoke and every time thereafter, Attorney Nichols was professional, thoughtful and conveyed a level of expertise that distinguished himself from his peers. He anticipated, and precisely answered all of my questions. Additionally, Attorney Nichols identified and discussed all of the collateral consequences associated with the pending case and any potential outcomes. Most importantly, he was sensitive to my lack of familiarity the with the criminal justice process in the state of Maine, and took time to thoroughly explain, in terms that I could understand, everything that I could expect to encounter moving forward.

During this stressful and uncertain time, I took great comfort in the fact that Attorney Nichols was always accessible by both telephone and email, and he encouraged me to contact him with any questions or concerns that arose, regardless of the hour. In addition to accessibility, I appreciated Attorney Nichols’s candor and honesty. At every stage of the process, he explained both the “good and the bad,” leaving no room for surprises. Contrary to comments offered by a previous reviewer, Attorney Nichols never once lectured me or judged the questionable behavior that culminated in my arrest. Instead, he was thoughtful, professional and respectful at all times.

Attorney Nichols always arrived to court early and prepared, and his knowledge of the law and ability as a trial attorney was impressive to watch. I noticed that his colleagues, including the state prosecutor and the judge that presided over my case, addressed Attorney Nichols with a level of deference that could only have been earned though many years of ethical and zealous advocacy on behalf of his clients. In fact, I was not surprised at the conclusion of my trial when the judge returned a verdict of NOT GUILTY.


Great Attorney
Posted by a DUI client, 2 years ago

  • I recommend Matthew Nichols.
  • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
  • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I had never been in trouble before my OUI arrest. I went to Matt and he explained the process and ramifications in the initial conversation. He went way over the 1 hour that he does for free and answered all my questions. He is not the type of attorney that will hand hold you, and he is not exactly comforting. He explains what it is, how it is and what needs to be done. I appreciated all of that in him, but some people might want/need a little more emotional support. Even still, any time I had a question I would email him and if it took an hour to get a response that would have been a long time. So he is there for you but he just won’t devote a lot of energy to your feelings. Again, I appreciate this in people, so I don’t mean it as a slight towards him. I received a copy of everything filed with the court by both parties and at all times I was made aware of the next step. He was always prompt to meetings and was always prepared–to which I think a lot of credit is due to his office assistant as she is amazing. Contrary to the other reviewer, I was never lectured on alcohol use by Matt and he doesn’t come across as the lecturing type on such issue.

I did loose my license for 90 days as part of the DMV suspension but not for the criminal offense because my case was dismissed. The DMV part of an OUI is a separate issue from the criminal matter, it also starts very quickly after the arrest, and the scope of the hearing is very limited. Their real concern is the testing procedure of the breathalyzer and not much else matters. The hearing is painless and Matt did all the talking so in reality I spent more time worrying about the hearing than actually attending the hearing. He asked that I attend but I wasn’t required to be at the hearing.

Overall, Matt is a great attorney, he’s friendly, efficient and is a guy you want fighting for you. Just don’t expect him to call you up and ask how you’re feeling.Attorney Sarah ChurchillAttorney Sarah Churchill